Wynants Wins “Roadie” Cyclocross

Pin It
Sand can get the better of even the best riders. © Bart Hazen

Sand can get the better of even the best riders. © Bart Hazen

By Bart Hazen

Mol, Belgium – Maarten Wynants (Quick Step) has won the “Roadie” Cyclocross in Mol, a charity race for the “Move to Improve” organization for disabled children. The cyclocross race, organized by Quick Step sports director Wilfried Peeters and Belgian Champion Tom Boonen, had a great line up with riders as 2008 World Champion Alessandro Ballan, Stijn Devolder, Greg van Avermaet, Italian Champion Filippo Pozzato, U23 European Champion Kris Boeckmans, Spain’s Carlos Barredo and others. Most of the roadies had problems with handling the technical sand sections but they kept going in the benefit race. Maarten Wynants, Dries Devenyns, Tom Boonen, Pieter Vanspeybroeck and Wim de Vocht took a great start, establishing an early break. Later on in the race Jelle Vanendert bridged up while De Vocht and Boonen dropped off  the break. The latter one due to a crash in the sand. In the final lap Wynants got rid of his companions to win solo over Vanendert and Vanspeybroeck.

Photo Gallery


1. Maarten Wijnants (Quick.Step) in 41:48
2. Jelle Vanendert op 0:09
3. Dries Devenyns 0:16
4. Pieter Vanspeybrouck 0:23
5. Wim De Vocht 0:27
6. Kevin Hulsmans
7. Jurgen Van den Broeck 0:57
8. Roy Sentjens 1:14
9. Kevin De Weert 1:17
10. Wouter Weylandt 1:26
11. Frederique Robert
12. Arnaud Coyot (Fra) 1:53
13. Tom Boonen
14. Addy Engels (Ned)
15. Steven de Jongh (Ned) 1:28
16. Stijn Joseph 2:21
17. Greg Van Avermaet 2:30
18. Jurgen Van de Walle 2:42
19. Geert Verheyen 2:57
20. Servais Knaven (Ned) 3:08
21. Matteo Tosatto (Ita) 3:55
22. Yannick Eijssen 3:55
23. Gert Dockx
24. Björn Leukemans 4:15
25. Nick Nuyens 4:20
26. Bram Tankink (Ned)
27. Kevin Van Impe 4:44
28. David Boucher (Fra) 5:10
29. Jan Bakelants
30. Niki Terpstra (Ned)
31. Kevin Seeldraeyers
32. Alessandro Ballan (Ita)
33. Denis Flahaut (Fra)
34. Stijn Vandenbergh
35. Carlos Barredo (Spa)
36. Filippo Pozzato (Ita)
37. Wilfried Cretskens
38. Stijn Devolder
39. Kris Boeckmans
40. Geert Omloop



Cyclocross Magazine, Issue 22, Print and digital subscriptionsHave you subscribed yet? You're missing out if not. Get all-original content and your cyclocross fix throughout the year with a subscription and Issue 23 back copy, with features on Lars van der Haar, Jonathan Page, Elle Anderson and more!
Tagged as: , , , ,

Stay up to date:

Search for a product, review, race or racer:

Visit these cx-loving companies:

Support CXM at no extra cost to you:

About Us | Jobs | Subscribe | Contact Us

Copyright © 2007-2014 Cyclocross Magazine - Cyclocross News, Races, Bikes, Photos, Videos All rights reserved.