Wellens Takes a Late Season Win in GP de Eecloonaar – Full Results

Pin It

It may have taken until just before the end of the season, but Bart Wellens (Telenet-Fidea) managed to take his first win today on a treacherous, frozen course in Eeklo, Belgium. Wellens has been on a long road back to the top after battling back from a debilitating virus.

Wellens made the early split with his teammate, World Champ Zdenek Stybar, Sven Nys (Landbouwkrediet), Niels Albert (BKCP-Powerplus) and Dieter Vanthourenhout (BKCP-Powerplus). While the favorites watched one another, Wellens put in a well-timed attack and took the win solo. Vanthourenhout was next across the line from the group, edging out perennial podiumer Nys by three seconds. Another 20 seconds back, Albert just beat Stybar for fourth.

American Jonathan Page started fast, going solo during the second lap to try to connect with Wellens, but an ill-timed mechanical forced him from the race just a lap later. Page was among an unusually large number of competitors, 11 in all, including Britian’s Ian Field, who abandoned the race.

“This is a season to quickly forget. I would have rather won Sunday in front of my home crowd, but this one they can’t take away from me,” Wellens said, referring to tomorrow’s Superprestige finale in Vorselaar, Belgium.

Wellens, who has been wearing a holter monitor to track his heartbeat all week following an episode of tachycardia during a race last weekend, told reporters the study did not reveal anything unusual. “Did I have my heart studied by a monitor this week?” he said. “Yes, but it was nothing special. Just a little test. This victory is good for my heart.”

Albert and Stybar come into the Superprestige series finale locked in a dead heat. Perhaps today’s tight battle just behind the fight for the podium was a precursor of tomorrow’s showdown. Although Stybar promises to fight for the series, he told Gazet van Antwerpen that he thinks Albert deserves the title, based on his season-long consistency. “If the sport is fair, Niels wins,” said Stybar.

Full Results:

1 Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team
2 Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus
3 Sven Nys (Bel) Landbouwkrediet
4 Niels Albert (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus
5 Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team
6 Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team
7 Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb Revor
8 Bart Aernouts (Bel) Rabobank Continental Team
9 Mariusz Gil (Pol) Baboco – Revor Cycling Team
10 Kenneth Van Compernolle (Bel) Sunweb Revor
11 Martin Zlamalik (Cze)
12 Lubomir Petrus (Cze) BKCP-Powerplus
13 Tim Van Nuffel (Bel) Rendementhypo Cycling Team
14 Rob Peeters (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team
15 Gianni Denolf (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus
16 Kacper Szczepaniak (Pol) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team
17 Vinnie Braet (Bel) Sunweb Revor
18 Ben Berden (Bel) Qin Cycling Team
19 Kevin Cant (Bel) AVB Cycling Team
20 Jiri Polnicky (Cze) Sunweb Revor
21 Jim Aernouts (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus
22 Jan Soetens (Bel) Colba-Mercuryploeg
23 Bjorn Rondelez (Bel) Lingier Versluys Beachbikers Team Vzw
24 Pawel Szczepaniak (Pol) Baboco – Revor Cycling Team
25 Dries Pauwels (Bel) Empella Czech Team
26 Sam Govaert (Bel)
27 Bert De Backer (Bel)



Cyclocross Magazine, Issue 22, Print and digital subscriptionsHave you subscribed yet? You're missing out if not. Get all-original content and your cyclocross fix throughout the year with a subscription and Issue 23 back copy, with features on Lars van der Haar, Jonathan Page, Elle Anderson and more!
Tagged as: , ,

Stay up to date:

Search for a product, review, race or racer:

Visit these cx-loving companies:

Become a CXM Supporter:

Like the content on cxmagazine.com? We're just a tiny two full-time person operation with big aspirations. Help us continue to bring you awesome cx content: Become a CXM supporter today:


What do you do in the off-season?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Support CXM at no extra cost to you: