USA Cycling Names Complete Worlds Squad

Pin It

Colorado Springs, Colo. – USA Cycling announced today the five athletes that were nominated to represent the United States in the elite men’s category at the 2009 UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships on Feb. 1 in Hoogerheide, Netherlands.

Ryan Trebon (Bend, Ore.), Tim Johnson (Middleton, Mass.) and Jeremy Powers (Hadley, Mass.) all earned automatic nominations to the team as the top three Americans in the UCI rankings.

Trebon (20th) and Powers (27th) will head to the Netherlands to contest the event. Johnson, ranked 22nd in the world, has declined his nomination and will not compete.

In addition to the automatic selections, USA Cycling also approved two discretionary picks to the squad – Brian Matter (Sheboygan, Wis.) and Matt Shriver (Salt Lake City, Utah). Both athletes were selected based on promising performances in international events this season.

The four men will join previously announced team members in Hoogerheide. Katie Compton (Colorado Springs, Colo.), Georgia Gould (Fort Collins, Colo.), Rachel Lloyd (Fairfax, Calif.), Laura Van Gilder (Cresco, Pa.), and Sue Butler (Portland, Ore.) will represent the U.S. in the elite women’s division. Nick Weighall (Millcreek, Mich.), Nicholas Keough (Sandwich, Mass.), Daniel Summerhill (Englewood, Colo.), Bjorn Selander (Hudson, Wis.) and Will Dugan (Burlington, Vt.) comprise the U23 men’s contingent. The junior men’s team will consist of Luke Keough (Sandwich, Mass.), Zach McDonald (Bainbridge Island, Wash.), Gavin Mannion (Dedham, Mass.), Eric Emsky (Fall City, Wash.) and Chris Wallace (Shawnee, Kan.).

2009 UCI Cyclo-Cross World Championships
Hoogerheide, Netherlands
January 31-February 1

U.S. Team:

Elite Men
Ryan Trebon (Bend, Ore.)
*Tim Johnson (Middleton, Mass.)
Jeremy Powers (Hadley, Mass.)
Brian Matter (Sheboygan, Wis.)
Matt Shriver
(Salt Lake City, Utah)
*declined invitation – will not compete

Elite Women
Katie Compton (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Georgia Gould (Fort Collins, Colo.)
Rachel Lloyd (Fairfax, Calif.)
Laura Van Gilder (Cresco, Pa.)
Sue Butler (Portland, Ore.)

U23 Men
Nick Weighall (Millcreek, Wash.)
Nicholas Keough (Sandwich, Mass.)
Daniel Summerhill (Englewood, Colo.)
Bjorn Selander (Hudson, Wis.)
Will Dugan (Burlington, Vt.)

Junior Men
Luke Keough (Sandwich, Mass.)
Zach McDonald (Bainbridge Island, Wash.)
Gavin Mannion (Dedham, Mass.)
Eric Emsky (Fall City, Wash.)
Chris Wallace (Shawnee, Kan.)



Cyclocross Magazine, Issue 22, Print and digital subscriptionsHave you subscribed yet? You're missing out if not. Get all-original content and your cyclocross fix throughout the year with a subscription and Issue 23 back copy, with features on Lars van der Haar, Jonathan Page, Elle Anderson and more!

Stay up to date:

Search for a product, review, race or racer:

Visit these cx-loving companies:

Support CXM at no extra cost to you:

About Us | Jobs | Subscribe | Contact Us

Copyright © 2007-2014 Cyclocross Magazine - Cyclocross News, Races, Bikes, Photos, Videos All rights reserved.