Matt Schriver takes his first UCI 'cross win.  ©Shane Orr

Matt Schriver takes his first UCI 'cross win. ©Shane Orr

Hendersonville, NC- Matt Shriver (Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory) took his first UCI Cyclocross victory last weekend in the North Carolina Grand Prix on Saturday with a brilliant solo effort, beating Italy’s Davide Frattini (Team Fuji) by 28 seconds.  Sunday’s race would be a different story though, with changing weather conditions, came a changing of the guard and Frattini turned the tables taking a decisive win.

The elite men raced on the same Jackson Park course on both days, but Mother Nature provided a striking contrast in conditions. Saturday’s event took place under brilliant blue skies and unseasonably warm temperatures, producing a fast and tactical battle. On Sunday, however, the weather turned and rain and mud made the course treacherously slick.

Saturday’s Elite Men’s race began with Brian Matter (Gear Grinder), making taking the hole-shot onto the grass after short run on asphalt. Matter kept his position at the front of the field for most of the opening lap.

By the time the field had crested the “wall” for the first time and made their way onto the paved start/finish straight, Frattini, Matter, and Shriver had announced their intentions at the front of the race along with Jake Wells (Mafia Racing), Eric Thompson (Lees-McRae College) and Ryan Knapp (

At the halfway point, Shriver, Frattini, Matter and Wells formed a lead quartet, which would remain intact until the race’s end.  On the final lap, pressure from Shriver’s fast pace would finally crack the Italian as he set off for a solo win. Behind, Matter and Wells did well to maintain a heated battle for the final podium spot but a bobble and untimely mechanical would see Wells drop from contention as he shouldered his bike for the final 300 meters, allowing Matter to cruise in for third and Travis Livermon (Champion System/Cannondale) and Thompson move up to fourth and fifth respectively.  Wells would hold on for sixth.

Davide Frattini solos to a win on Sunday.  ©Shane Orr

Davide Frattini solos to a win on Sunday. ©Shane Orr

Sunday’s race would feature the same players at the front but in the cold and muddy conditions, Frattini would shine.  Taking the hole-shot and setting a furious pace, the Italian asserted his control over the race early.

By the end of the first lap, Frattini held a slight advantage over the three chasers, Matter, Shriver and Wells.  Riding consistently and showing no weakness, Frattini’s lead would grew to more than 20 seconds as he began the bell lap.  Matter and Wells were behind, again fighting for the podium.  Matter’s smooth riding style made the difference this day, as he was able to distance himself in the slick off-camber sections.  Wells would hold on for third and Saturday’s winner, Schriver, had to settle for forth.

In the women’s race, Kristin Wentworth (Planet Bike) took her first major victory in the North Carolina Grand Prix on Saturday, out-pacing breakaway companion Deidre Winfield (C3-Athletes Serving Athletes) in the closing meters. Wentworth’s teammate Linda Sone soloed in for third place to round out the podium.

Once again, on Sunday, changing conditions would bring a change of fortune as Winfield soloed to her first win of the ‘cross season just ahead of the Planet Bike pair of Kaitlin Antonneau and Wentworth.

Photo Gallery:


Elite Men, Day 1:

Matt ShriverRocky Mountain Chocolate Factory0:58:03
Davide FrattiniTeam Fuji0:00:28
Brian MatterGear Grinder0:00:35
Travis LivermonChampion System/Cannondale0:00:59
Eric ThompsonLees-McRae College0:01:08
Jake WellsMafia Racing0:01:13
Sam Krieg0:01:58
Grant Berry0:02:06
Ryan Knapp0:02:16
Brad Perley0:02:22
Noah Niwinski0:02:25
James Lalonde0:02:53
Jonathan Hamblen0:03:11
Ryan Leach0:03:18
Eric Muehl0:03:22
Andrew Messer0:03:47
Eric Wondergem0:03:56
Lucas Livermon0:04:06
Doug Yeater0:04:08
Alex Ryan0:04:39
Andy Applegate0:04:42
Damian Schmitt0:05:00
Scott Frederick0:05:05
Aaron Oakes0:05:23
Christopher Consorto0:05:26
Andrew Reardon0:05:36
Josh Stevens0:06:21
John Crow
Noah Metzler
Robert Jameson
Andy Baker
Aaron Bradford
Bryan Schoeffler

Elite Men, Day 2:

1Davide FrattiniTeam Fuji0:59:02
2Brian MatterGear Grinder0:00:16
3Jake WellsMafia Racing0:00:20
4Matt ShriverRocky Mountain Chocolate Factory0:00:56
5Travis LivermonChampion System / Cannondale0:01:58
6James LalondePlanet Bike0:02:24
7Davy YeaterRiver City Bicycles0:02:27
8Grant BerryRocky Mountain Chocolate Factory0:02:51
9Sam KriegICE Krieg Cycling0:03:06
10Ryan KnappBikeReg.com0:03:16
11Nathanael WyattCarolina Fatz p/b Santa Cruz Bicycles0:03:30
12Eric ThompsonLees-McRae College0:03:48
13Bradford Perley0:03:55
14Andy ApplegateChampion Systems / Cannondale0:04:06
15Andy MesserDRT Racing0:04:25
16Aaron BradfordOnSite Ultrasound/Enduro0:04:53
17Scott FrederickInland Construction/Back to Dirt0:04:54
18Damian SchmittSunnyside Sports0:05:08
19Matt WillingABRC/Mars Hill College
20Aaron Oakes
21Andy ReardonMOAB / Van Dessel0:06:10
22Jon HamblenBTD – Inland Construction0:07:00
23Joshua WhitmoreGlobalbike0:08:18
24Robert Jameson0:09:42
25John CrowNorth Carolina State University
26Alex RyanChampion System/Cannondale0:12:11
27Eric MuehlIndustry Nine
28Bryan SchoefflerTEAM OSP
29Noah MetzlerGlobalbike p/b Catoma
DNFChristopher ConsortoSecret Henry’s
DNFNoah NiwinskiBoone Velo
DNFLucas LivermonInland Construction/Back to Dirt

Elite Women, Day 1:

1Kristin WentworthPlanet Bike0:40:42
2Deidre WinfieldC3 Athletes Serving Athletes0:00:08
3Linda SonePlanet Bike0:00:45
4Kaitlin AntonneauPlanet Bike0:00:58
5Kristin GavinHuman Zoom/Pabst Blue Ribbon0:01:30
6Elizabeth FryeBoone Velo 0:01:45
7Nikki Thiemann0:02:33
8Kimberly Flynn0:03:01
9Kristine Church0:03:51
10Evie Boswell-Vil0:04:32
11Golden Moore0:04:49
12Deb Sweeney WhitmoreBMW-Bianchi0:05:11
13Lauren Costantini0:05:34
14Therese Meek0:05:55

Elite Women, Day 2:

1Deidre WinfieldC3 Athletes Serving Athletes0:37:29
2Kaitlin AntonneauPlanet Bike0:00:08
3Kristin WentworthPlanet Bike0:00:43
4Linda SonePlanet Bike0:01:26
5Kimberly FlynnVantaggio/ Specialized SCV0:01:34
6Kristin Gavin0:01:48
7Nikki Thiemann0:01:57
8Elizabeth FryeBoone Velo0:02:48
9Kristine ChurchHumanzoom/ Pabst Blue Ribbon0:03:37
10Deb Sweeney WhitmoreBMW-Bianchi0:03:43
11Jo MarkhamLees-McRae College0:03:46
12Golden MooreFiets Maan Racing0:04:02
13Erica ZavetaLees-McRae College0:04:08
14Teri MeekBikeclicks/Team Louisville0:04:33
15Evie Boswell-ViltInland/Back to Dirt Racing0:05:32
16Jessica SingermanWissahickon0:05:34