Devon Haskell Leads the Charge © Janet Hill

Devon Haskell leads the charge. © Janet Hill

For full Cyclocross National Championships coverage and information, visit our 2010 USA Cycling National Championships Page.

The women’s 30-34 race offered an exciting tit-for-tat trade between eventual winner Devon Haskell (Team Tibco/To the Top) and Amanda Carey (Kenda). From the gun the two quickly separated, along with Andrea Smith (Minuteman Road Club), from the rest of the group, making it clear that the rest of the racers were battling for third. Carey’s pro mountain biking skills were apparent as she gained ground in the technical sections, but Haskell’s power continued to neutralize Carey on the boggy straights.

“It was a tough race,” said Haskell. “I had a really tough competitor so I couldn’t let up. It went better than I expected – you can’t expect a win in cyclocross. This win was definitely the sweetest – I had to work hardest for it. It was really fun, the mud was great; the course had a little bit of everything. I had a little bobble on the last barriers, but it worked out.”

“It was a good race, a good battle – and you always prefer to have a good battle,” said Carey. “We broke off into three right off the bat, I knew it was going to be a battle right away. At one point I got a gap, a good healthy gap. But I came up over the hill and completely took myself out, right over my bars and into the tape. Devon caught me right away. I was trying to be sneaky and take tighter lines, but this course just sucks the power out of you, and I was getting more and more tired and getting away with those sneaky lines less and less. I caught her with two to go on the back hill, which I was going to ride but she got off and we ran into each other. She got back on her bike faster and that’s where the gap happened. Devon’s amazing, she rode a really good race and really put the hurt on me on the flats.”

With that final gap, Haskell was able to maintain, and then extend, her lead over Carey, and the former collegiate champion was able to enjoy her National Title with hands raised.

Early on, Andrea Smith  was able to hang on to the leaders but eventually found her own pace in no-man’s-land, holding a secured third position for the majority of the race and crossing the line ready to take that position on the podium.

The big battle came behind, with Emily Thurston (3rd Rail Cycling Club/Missing Link Bicycle Co-op), Nicole Thiemann (Teac Cf-Mass/Team Cf-Elite) and Crystal Anthony (Minuteman Road Club) all battling hard for the last two spots on the podium. Ultimately, Thurston dropped the other two and nearly caught Smith in the process, narrowly missing third place by four seconds. Thiemann was able to get clear of Anthony to take the final podium spot.

Gallery by Janet Hill:

Place Points NameCity, StateTimeBibTeam
1150Devon HaskellSanta Cruz, CA0:37:14398Team Tibco / To The Top
2135Amanda CareyVictor, ID37:24:00399
3120Andrea SmithSomerville, MA38:24:00411Minuteman Road Club
4105Emily ThurstonSan Pablo, CA38:28:004143Rd Rail Cycling Club/Missing L
590Nicole ThiemannPhiladelphia, PA38:39:00418Team Cf-Mass/Team Cf-Elite
685Crystal Anthony (1 – Cat2)Beverly, MA38:57:00409Minuteman Road Club
780Kristin Gavin (2 – Cat2)Philadelphia, PA38:57:00400Team Cf-Mass/Team Cf-Elite
875Serena BishopBend, OR39:03:00405
970Lisa CurryBozeman, MT39:21:00383Gallatin Valley Bicycle Club/Ga
1065Rebecca Blatt (3 – Cat2)West Hartford, CT39:32:00396Central Wheel Of Farmington Ct
1160Kristen KelseyWoodinville, WA40:03:00420
1255Ann D’Ambruoso (4 – Cat2)Waltham , MA40:22:00402Ladies First
1350Marsa Daniel (1 – Cat3)Seattle, WA40:39:00406
1445Sunny Gilbert (5 – Cat2)Chesterfield, MO40:43:00391
1540Megan Taylor (6 – Cat2)Denver, CO40:51:00412
1638Corey Coogan CisekMinneapolis, MN41:13:00395Team Plan C
1736Erika PowersSandy, UT41:43:00403
1834Karyn Abraham (7 – Cat2)Issaquah, WA42:18:00421
1932Kate Shanahan (2 – Cat3)Boise, ID42:20:00394Wild Rockies Inc/Wild Rockies R
2030Cara ApplegateBlack Mountain, NC42:29:00387Spokeswomen Syndicate Inc./Perf
2128Julianne Zickovich (3 – Cat3)Bozeman, MT42:38:00393Gallatin Valley Bicycle Club/Ga
2226Jessica Cutler (8 – Cat2)Seattle, WA42:40:00384Seattle Super Squadra/Cucina Fr
2324Katie DeClercq (9 – Cat2)Soquel, CA42:41:00410
2422Kristine Church (10 – Cat2)Philadelphia, PA42:41:00397Human Zoom Cycling/Human Zoom
2520Haley Juno-Galdes (11 – Cat2)Menlo Park, CA43:00:00378Alto Velo Racing Club/Webcor/Al
2619Annie Usher (12 – Cat2)Portland, OR43:04:00390
2718Ellen Sherrill (4 – Cat3)Southlaketahoe, CA43:08:00407Davis Bike Club/Davis Bike Club
2817Lindsay Jones (5 – Cat3)Eugene, OR43:26:00379
2916Katie Melena (6 – Cat3)Santacruz, CA43:37:00389
3015Elizabeth Lukowski (7 – Cat3)Albany, NY43:53:00416Capital Bicycle Racing Club/Nyc
3114Heidi Swift (8 – Cat3)Portland, OR44:12:00417
3213alyssa severn (13 – Cat2)Madison, WI44:15:00404Magnus
3312Julie KulieczaRichmond, VA44:36:00377River City Women’S Racing/Fruit
3411Corrie Middleton (9 – Cat3)Snohomish, WA45:03:00381
3510Sarah Barkley (10 – Cat3)Richland, WA45:25:00415Chinook Cycling Club Inc/Chinoo
369Naomi Haverlick (11 – Cat3)Seattle, WA45:44:00408Union Velo Club/Union Velo Club
378Emily Eggers (12 – Cat3)Seattle, WA45:50:00392Avanti Racing Club/Blue Rooster
387Cooper Ambjorn (13 – Cat3)Covington, KY46:28:00413Reser Fusion Velo Experience
396Amber Clark (14 – Cat3)Bend, OR48:39:00419
DNS0Kari StudleyBothell, WADNS386Mafia Racing
DNS0Jennie MickelsonSalt Lake City, UTDNS380
DNS0Carolyn PopovicEast Norriton, PADNS382
DNS0Miss Mary PerezLa Selva Beach, CADNS385Velo Bella
DNS0Camille JentgenKirkland, WADNS401
DNF0Wendy StredwickCoeur D’ Alene, IDDNF388Coeur D ‘Alene Velo Racers