Boom and Elemans Leads Dutch Sweep in Surhuisterveen

Pin It

The racing has resumed and the new national championship jerseys were on display in Surhuisterveen, Netherlands at the UCI C1 Internationale Centrumcross van Surhuisterveen. World and Dutch Champ Lars Boom showed once again he’s the master of timing his form and showed his strength today. Boom held a commanding lead going into the last lap, but then flatted. After a quick change, he regained the leading duo of Thijs Al and Gerben de Knegt, and passed them just before the line. The top four finishers were all Dutch.

Belgian Champ Sven Nys had poor luck with two flats, and finished only in 10th, just ahead of “without a contract” Belgian Champ Ben Berden.

In the women’s race, Saskia Elemans took the win over Sanne van Paassen, with Loes Gunnewijk in third. Two Japanese riders finished in the top ten.


1. Lars Boom
2. Thijs Al
3. Gerben de Knegt
4. Richard Groenendaal
5. Phillip Walsleben
6. Radomir Simunek Jr.
7. Erwin Vervecken
8. Eddy van IJzendoorn
9. Thijs van Amerongen
10. Sven Nys
11. Ben Berden
12. Marco Bianco
13. Keiichi Tsujiura
14. Tim van Nuffel
15. Jonathan Page

1. Saskia Elemans
2. Sanne van Paassen
3. Loes Gunnewijk
4. Sophie de Boer
5. Rebecca Talen
6. Tessa van Nieuwpoort
7. Mika Ogishima
8. Ayako Toyooka
9. Sabrina Stultiens
10. Judy van den Berg



Cyclocross Magazine, Issue 22, Print and digital subscriptionsHave you subscribed yet? You're missing out if not. Get all-original content and your cyclocross fix throughout the year with a subscription and Issue 23 back copy, with features on Lars van der Haar, Jonathan Page, Elle Anderson and more!

Stay up to date:

Search for a product, review, race or racer:

Visit these cx-loving companies:

Support CXM at no extra cost to you:

About Us | Jobs | Subscribe | Contact Us

Copyright © 2007-2014 Cyclocross Magazine - Cyclocross News, Races, Bikes, Photos, Videos All rights reserved.