How Do I Upgrade in Cyclocross? — Cyclocross 101

Pin It

USA Cycling Rules and Rule Book, 2012 - Cyclocross, Road, Mountain BikeIf you are racing in USAC-sanctioned events, you are eligible to upgrade from Category 5 to Category 4 once you have completed 10 races. For the women out there, there isn’t a Category 5 race yet, so you’ll start in the Category 4 class (often referred to as the B’s) before moving up.

To request an upgrade, you must submit a form through your USAC account and your regional coordinator will review it. Once you’ve upgraded to the 4’s, moving up requires points, earned by placing well in races.

Get schooled in cyclocross with our Cyclocross Academy class list here, and make sure you’re subscribed to Cyclocross Magazine, your guide for getting into the sport, and upping your ’cross knowledge. Not subscribed yet? For the newbies, our Issue 21 has a great feature on buying your first cyclocross bike, and Issue 22 has a story on how to get into racing and what to expect at your first race.



Cyclocross Magazine, Issue 22, Print and digital subscriptionsHave you subscribed yet? You're missing out if not. Get all-original content and your cyclocross fix throughout the year with a subscription and Issue 23 back copy, with features on Lars van der Haar, Jonathan Page, Elle Anderson and more!
Tagged as: ,

Stay up to date:

Search for a product, review, race or racer:

Visit these cx-loving companies:

Support CXM at no extra cost to you:

About Us | Jobs | Subscribe | Contact Us

Copyright © 2007-2014 Cyclocross Magazine - Cyclocross News, Races, Bikes, Photos, Videos All rights reserved.